Michael Ward on Monday, December 18


Seattle, WA – The Seattle Film Critics Society (“SFCS”) announced the winners in 19 categories for the 2017 Seattle Film Critics Society Awards on Monday, December 18, 2017.

Winning the top prize of Best Picture of the Year was Jordan Peele’s Get Out, a satirical horror film looking at race relations in America. The film, which earned six nominations in the SFCS awards, also won Best Ensemble Cast.

“2017 has been a great year for movies, and our awards this year reflect that,” said Seattle Film Critics Society President Mike Ward. “The spreading of the wealth is indicative of the large number of films that have passionate support among our membership. Our recipients this year reflect a diverse sampling of stories and characters, which define why critics and audiences equally love the movies. Recognizing ‘Get Out’, which opened in February, is a testament to that film’s staying power, message, and success.”

Saoirse Ronan in "Lady Bird"

Saoirse Ronan in "Lady Bird"

Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig’s highly acclaimed comedic drama, won three awards, including Saoirse Ronan for Best Actress, Laurie Metcalf as Best Supporting Actress, and Gerwig’s script winning Best Screenplay.

Paul Thomas Anderson’s period drama Phantom Thread, reportedly the final film for actor Daniel Day-Lewis, also won three prizes. The film earned Day-Lewis the award for Best Actor, as well as wins for Best Costume Design and Best Original Score.

Dunkirk, Christopher Nolan’s epic summer blockbuster won two awards; including Nolan named Best Director and the film winning for Best Film Editing.

Willem Dafoe and Brooklynn Prince in "The Florida Project"

Willem Dafoe and Brooklynn Prince in "The Florida Project"

Sean Baker’s The Florida Project earned two acting prizes: Willem Dafoe for Best Supporting Actor and 7-year-old newcomer Brooklynn Prince, who won this year’s Best Youth Performance award.

The year’s most nominated film, Blade Runner 2049, turned eight nominations into two wins: Best Production Design and Best Cinematography, rewarding the work of legendary cinematographer Roger A. Deakins.

Other winners include: Coco, which won Best Animated Feature, Faces Places, which picked up the prize for Best Documentary Feature, and Raw, a French horror film about a teenage vegetarian who realizes she is a cannibal, was named Best Foreign Language Film.

After formation in the fall of 2016, The Seattle Film Critics Society officially became a non-profit organization in 2017, with a membership consisting of 25 film critics, representing print, broadcast, podcasting, and online film criticism. This year’s awards are the second held under the banner of the SFCS, honoring the best films and performances of the year.

The full list of recipients of the 2017 Seattle Film Critics Society Awards are as follows:


BEST DIRECTOR: Christopher Nolan, Dunkirk
BEST ACTOR: Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread
BEST ACTRESS: Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
BEST SCREENPLAY: Lady Bird – Greta Gerwig
BEST ANIMATED FEATURE: Coco – Adrian Molina, Lee Unkrich, directors
BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: Raw – Julia Ducournau, director
BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE: Faces, Places – JR, Agnès Varda, directors
BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: Blade Runner 2049 – Roger A. Deakins
BEST COSTUME DESIGN: Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges
BEST FILM EDITING: Dunkirk – Lee Smith
BEST ORIGINAL SCORE: Phantom Thread – Jonny Greenwood
BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN: Blade Runner 2049 – Dennis Gassner (Production Designer), Alessandra Querzola (Set Decorator)
BEST VISUAL EFFECTS: War for the Planet of the Apes – Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett, Joel Whist
BEST YOUTH PERFORMANCE: Brooklynn Prince, The Florida Project
VILLAIN OF THE YEAR: Dennis & The Horde – Split – (portrayed by James McAvoy)